RSS Feed

#WhyImVotingUkip – Hashtag gone horribly wrong!

Posted on

When UKIP tweeted the following, I don’t think they fully anticipated the reaction it would get…

“Why are you voting UKIP this year? Tell us, tell Twitter and let’s get it trending! #WhyImVotingUkip”

The tweets began with serious reasons from party supporters, but quickly turned into an all too easy opportunity to make fun of the UKIP and everything they stand for. #WhyImVotingUkip was certainly trending by this morning, but for all the wrong reasons!

Here are a selection of responses:

Shoaib M Khan @UK_HumanRights – #WhyImVotingUkip: because, like the leader @Nigel_Farage, I get a bit racist when I’m tired too.

AJM. @YouMustBeAnna – #WhyImVotingUkip because voting far right and blaming minorities after an economic downturn worked so well before, let’s try that again.

Tom McArthur @TomMcArthur – #WhyImVotingUkip – because Shakira should be a pop star, not a legal system. Oh, wait…

Dylan H Martell @TorySwing – #WhyImVotingUkip: because no political party is standing up for the white, middle-class, heterosexual male, and that needs to change.

Grace Petrie @gracepetrie – #WhyImVotingUkip because approximately 158% of gays are Romanian.

And my personal favourite:

Vikki Stone @vikkistone – #WhyImVotingUkip Because the weather’s really starting to pick up, and I don’t want it ruined by gays.

 

Source:

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/may/21/whyimvotingukip-when-a-hashtag-goes-wrong-nigel-

Image from http://www.catch21.co.uk/catch21/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/Nigel-Farage-1552356.jpg

 

 

About Poppy Reece

Hi, I'm Poppy. I graduated from Essex Uni with a Social Psychology and Sociology degree, and now work in the Youth Support Team at Suffolk County Council. I also write articles for disability charity Dancing Giraffe when I can. I'm interested in issues of poverty, inequality, politics, social justice, and health. I plan to use this blog to write about issues which I feel passionately about, comment on news stories which take my interest, and simply post stories and information which may be of interest.

Leave a Reply

